Fantasy fiction cover art inspiration

I am looking for some inspiration to make my first fantasy fiction novel cover stand out from the crowd. You can view it here. I would love it if you could comment with links to similar genre artwork, illustrations and illustrators or general sites with examples of interesting book covers.

I have also received some great advice on Twitter such as losing the fancy ‘i’s. Any feedback – good or bad – is appreciated.

Remember, rate the post as well so I know the general verdict on the cover art.

Thanks.

2 comments on “Fantasy fiction cover art inspiration

  1. From my first immediate impression on seeing your cover art for Tirfo Thuin a few weeks ago, I’ve really liked it, Andrew. It feels real and immediately conveys a mood that would make me want to check out the book further. As far as I’m concerned, it’s a great cover. I’m not an artist, but I do love a good cover. You may already be familiar with Michael Whelan’s work (michaelwhelan.com). He’s produced several of my favorite cover illustrations. –Joe

  2. Hi Joseph. Thanks so much for your kind comments. I do believe that people do, in fact, judge a book by it’s cover. If a cover stands out on Amazon I am immediately drawn to it so I want to make sure mine stands out too. Got some plans to rework it slightly as well. I want to do more with the branches I think. Not seen Michael’s work so will check it out now. Thanks again, Andy

Leave a Reply

